The Perception Damage 

Although people say I’ve done good,  I don’t believe it

Do you know how scared I look in the mirror,  disgusted and embarrassed

Abandoned by others but I’ve done some abandoning myself 

I could blame it on my examples of love, failing to love a hurt child 

No one is responsible for my thoughts or actions, choices applied in every interaction 

Funny how as a child my confidence was full, until after middle school 

Acid thrown on my self esteem,  now I’m going up in age but down in appeal regarding endurance 

What happened? 

What makes us feel death may be better, saving those around us from being bothered? 

Told I’m loved but I can’t remember any good things I’ve done, I can’t see any

Told I’ll get better but I can’t shake feeling like a burden, a waste of flesh 

What happened to feeling good about myself? 

Shown I don’t deserve to feel good. 

Trapped in a place where I can but can’t yet feel like I should but fail when I would 

Up thinking I must do something, somehow settle with nothing, embarrassed exhausted numb

However dull pains occur refusing to run

This is just a perception problem within 

Plus my serotonin needs gains to win

My self worth and accomplishments thin

Depression says breathing air is a sin. 

What happened? 

What makes us feel death may be better, saving those around us from being bothered? 

Told I’m loved but I can’t remember any good things I’ve done, I can’t see any

Told I’ll get better but I can’t shake feeling like a burden, a waste of flesh 

What happened to feeling good about myself? 

Shown I don’t deserve to feel good. 

Leave a Reply

