Unkind Line 

There is a line

A line we must check 

How much of me can I be 

How much of you should not move 

We’re always checking the line.

/

Did I go too far 

Did you go far enough 

Did you just go too far 

Did I go far enough 

When we’re hurt and confused 

Do we step away defeated 

Or do we just take a break and stand again? 

/

If love is an ocean

We shouldn’t stop treading at all 

If love is unknown waters 

Shouldn’t we watch out together 

I was wrong 

Then you were wrong 

We’ve come so far why swim all the way home let’s try harder 

Journeys like these are treacherous 

/

But are we two for one or two for two

These are the moments we swore swimming together would solve 
Here comes a big wave I pray neither one of us gets carried off

There is a line so thin

I don’t want any mistakes or issues to do us in

Do you? 

3 thoughts on “Unkind Line 

Leave a Reply

