Separating Laundry 

Tears writing like ink,  if something should happen letters 

It’s hard to do but just in case my ending comes without warning here we go

It’s only fair to say I love you and don’t cry yourself to sleep for years

Don’t play,  the I should have said game because you’ll always lose

You’ll be washing clothes alone for a while or possibly forever it is whatever you choose 

Write,  don’t hold in your new blues. 

*

Sit in the corner during rain if you have to

Just don’t make it a home it may consume you

Remember how I touched your face transmitting my heart 

How did you feel assured everything in you was truly wanted by me

Go on with one laundry basket on your way through our city

I know your family doesn’t like me so mourn some place safe without judgements 

You don’t owe my relatives a damn thing so feel free to be silent if they ask questions 

Should have asked while I could answer so go on free with my approval 

While you empty my clothes into the local landfill snot mixing with tears 

Can’t give any possessions away risking seeing them somewhere else 

 *

Us, oh it was everything I’ve always wanted 

Oh it was a pleasure being yours

Whether a Hell, Heaven

Holding tank or nothingness 

You’ll be in me as the greatest decision I’ve ever made 

Go and do your laundry alone I’m in your head, my new home 

Keep my poems alive and remember me, remember us. 

*

When you touch your body remind yourself how my brown eyes watched eagerly in passion 

Kissing between your knees so deep

Maybe it’ll help you get to sleep 

Play recordings in your head of my goofy sayings and dances 

How I cooked and cleaned for us without complaining because I love you 

It was always in my tone, eyes, sex, kisses, and hugs

Always will be

The greatest romance I’ve ever seen

*

Just in case I fall down before the sun rises 

Or in case I perish before sunset 

Know you saved my life many times 

Gentle words and actions to clear my mind

Said it is okay to remove my blindfold to use my eyes

Allowed me to dry your tears when life made you cry

*

Oh it was everything I’ve always wanted 

Oh it was a pleasure being yours

Whether a Hell, Heaven

Holding tank or nothingness 

You’ll be in me as the greatest decision I’ve ever made 

Go and do your laundry alone I’m in your head, my new home 

Keep my poems alive and remember me, remember us. 

/

Have I told you,  my life became sweeter after meeting you? 

Have I said, how thankful I am to be chosen by you?

Have I shown you just how much I want to be everything you’ve ever wanted?

Leave a Reply

