Putting A Pen Down 

Far from easy 

Admitting defeat and wasted ink

Misplaced writing and energy mocking me well 

Some places have dead ends pretty in all seasons now seasons then 

Others have an expiration date 

There’s no plans to tear my building down 

Know there’s no more plans to expand it out

Putting a pen down with ink still inside seems forbidden 

Writing for the sake of wasting ink isn’t a better alternative 

All these miles written in black creative magic a road to nowhere but it looks pretty. 

I do not want to run in place I feel stupid about it

Webs in my space and I’m wanting to move somewhere that makes more sense 

Cannot pretend I’ve made a journey when the miles are not registering on the odometer at all

Far from easy 

Admitting wasted ink alongside forests of crumpled papers 

I see it now

This won’t lead me to where I want to be 

Closing a familiar door for the last time

Walking away from illustrations of my wasted imagination in dimmed lights. 

Putting a pen down with ink still inside seems forbidden 

Writing for the sake of wasting ink isn’t a better alternative 

All these miles written in black creative magic a road to nowhere but it looks pretty

Far from easy. 

Step out from the corner now and see your way 

Step away from the madness you’ve held onto for so long 

Cuts in an unwashed palm trained to clench hard

Fingers seem to stay connected but they can relax grip tonight 

They can relax tonight. 

Leave a Reply

