Growing In School

Hours , hours before dismissal 

Heads low same for pencils 

Tired from nightmares last night

/

Instructor ignored 

Way too irrelevant 

For my consideration today

Last night I ran

Until my legs lost support. 

/

Silly, silly me

Looking for meanings 

When there’s work to be done

Erase my notebook 

Start being serious for once 

/

Because, brutality 

Lies within shadows 

Land owner is me

I swear I don’t allow it

But won’t tell folly to leave

From today, until my end 

I promise to take notes 

Promise to start listening 

Swear I’ll pass

Swear to put everything I have in 

Can’t, cannot afford 

To come home and take a nap when 

I’m behind in every course 

I’ll do better 

Gotta improve my voice. 

Leave a Reply

