Looking Back In Chains

I’d look back but I know it’s done
Nothing is left in the past but replays
I could chase the air hoping to find something solid
I’d be a fool wasting today.

It’s over and it should be left
It’s over and if I go back looking for you all I will find is myself

Just myself…

We already played our parts so show is over
Can’t change the script now
Pretending to know what you would do if I said something different
Is torture yes it is

I’m here in the present and you are too
We try again but erasing what we know will never come true
Obviously I would have rather been all you wanted
Sadly it just wasn’t what happened no need to grab chains
Locking my heart plus mind to an empty room
The past is over
Gone and no one can make it move.

It’s over and it should be left
It’s over and if I go back looking for you all I will find is myself

Just myself…

Looking around
For you
When you’ve moved on
And I should too
Doesn’t matter what intentions were meant decisions have been made
I can’t just rewrite the story of my life it doesn’t work that way
Maybe it’s better to clean out my closet
Get rid of all the hopes I had
They are just mental images all faded
The idea of us destroyed it couldn’t make it
Pass the harsh test of time.

It’s over and it should be left
It’s over and if I go back looking for you all I will find is myself

Just myself looking for a chance already gone life moves on…

Leave a Reply

