The Simple Start Of Loving

Something so simple as a kiss
Held back until the right time
No internet search can tell you it just appears
In the mind one second like hey I want to show
Where I am

If we lean in
The first time my eyes wide
Can’t miss anything
See I’m focused
On something so simple as
A quick kiss for our first time
Driving home swerving
Awaiting a habit hopefully coming soon

Awaiting a habit.
Will you be conditioned to get wet?
Will I be conditioned to get hard?
When we meet or talk.
Awaiting a habit.
Do you feel this?
Do you think it too?

Woman I’m awaiting your return to my sight
Just like you say you are waiting for me to find yours
We don’t care about these laughable social cues
Always independent doing whatever we want to do

They mock us
Especially me
Saying a man shouldn’t want love and show it
Obviously they have never met poets
Especially me
Part of men who don’t need to feel higher than others to live
Talk shit well I won’t give into their outdated rules

This is your life and my life
We will spend our time how we want
With whoever we want to
Even if the world says we failed
As if the world’s standards meet an acceptable grade

Getting hooked on caring for each other
As long as we are not hurting each other
Has me waiting

Awaiting a habit.
Will you be conditioned to get wet?
Will I be conditioned to get hard?
When we meet or talk.
Awaiting a habit.
Do you feel this?
Do you think it too?
Waking up together feeling renewed

Such a small ripple racing through our lives.

Leave a Reply

