Two Directions To Consider

I put your pictures on my phone
To keep you with me while you fade
We step away

I’m not sure right now
But I’m going to dial back my words
And look away

I need to repair my heart
And I don’t think I’ll risk you breaking it apart
All I have are questions no one can answer

Don’t get me wrong
I want to be with you
Sure I would stay if you asked me to
But you won’t dare
It’s too close
And my thoughts are getting cold

So I wonder in books and writing down
The attention you would get but pass on
Why waste my time thinking of you and me
While time goes by and you scream

Screaming, don’t come in
I feel the questions press my chest
And I already know the answers but I’m too afraid to let go
So I drift away slowly and you just watch

I need to repair my heart
And I don’t think I’ll risk you breaking it apart
All I have are questions no on one can answer

I
Can’t keep thinking about you
Until it’s safe to proceed
Obviously I’m too far ahead
I’ll wait and see if you’ll catch up
Or disappear purposely

Don’t get me wrong
I want us to be
But I’m not sure if you will ever believe any of my words.

Written by Nofaithpoet

Leave a Reply

